Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons ratified by four more nations

The Kyodo News Service has reported that a ceremony to commemorate signatures and ratifications for the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons, which was adopted by the United Nations last July, was held at the United Nations headquarters on September 26. Four more nations – Samoa, San Marino, Vanuatu, and Gambia – have ratified the treaty and seven more countries have signed it. To date, 19 nations and regions have ratified the treaty, and 67 nations and regions have signed it, which is a preliminary step toward ratification. In order for the treaty to enter into force, it must be ratified by 50 nations and regions. The nuclear weapon states and U.S. allies, including Japan, have refused to sign or ratify the treaty.